Go Down Skip to main content

Author Topic: Howdy, I'm Grandpaul from Laredo, TX

g
    • Born Again Bikes
Howdy, I'm Grandpaul from Laredo, TX
OP: June 16, 2012, 11:33:40 AM
I've been riding for over 40 years, wrenching on bikes for about as long.

I opened my restoration shop called "Born Again Bikes" (link in my signature) in 2005. I mainly do British bikes, but I've done a fair share of Japanese bikes and the odd Euro stuff.

Born and raised in Laredo, and have been riding the Texas hill country for at least 25 years; I've also ridden in 13 other states.

I am a member of CMA (Christian Motorcyclists Assn), ride with the Brit Iron Rebels Worldwide, and am a regular at the BMOA New Ulm rallye and Texas Mile at Beeville.

My wyfe, Sally, also rides, as do my older sons. We're about to adopt a new boy, that'll make 5 kids, and we have a new grandson, that makes 6 grandkids.

I'm whittling down my collection in anticipation of moving up to the Austin area; I recently gave my older boys 3 bikes each, so I'm down to 36 bikes now (if you count projects in-work).

I've race vintage bikes with the American Historic Racing Motorcycle Assn. (AHRMA). I scratch-built a '69 Triumph Bonneville 650 to Historic Production Heavyweight specs (finished 5th out of 20 riders in the class in 2008 as a rookie), and have also raced my 72 Rickman Montesa 250 in VMX Sprortsman 250 class, a borrowed Kawasaki 500 triple in Formula 500 (3rd place in the championship in 2008), and ridden "monkey" in an LCR Suzuki GSXR1000 in Formula 1 sidecar (2010 class champions).

I'm right in the middle of restoring Scott's '82 magna, and will start a new project thread on that, updated back to the beginning. If you stretch the rules, I have an '83 Interceptor, so that's pretty close to a Magna...

That's me, happy to be here.
  • IP logged
-GrandPaul
Proprietor of Born Again Bikes Refurbs & restorations
Author, "Old Bikes"

• 1st Gear Contributor
Re: Howdy, I'm Grandpaul from Laredo, TX